Just a fiction writer?

Just a fiction writer?

Postby TomEC on January 14th, 2011, 5:34 pm

Lynsay wrote:But what do I know? I'm just a fiction writer. LOL.

I know Lynsay was sort of joking when she wrote that, hence the LOL. Somehow, after I read it, that statement kept rattling around in my head, along with a bit of spare change and an old whistle, until I had to write this. This is my opinion anyway.

Writing is a skill we learn at school. Writing well is a talent born of practice and a love for language. Writing fiction is a wonder indeed “such stuff as dreams are made on.” Not the dreams where you wake up chewing on your pillow but the kind that make you forget you’re on a boring commute or waiting in the dentist’s office; the kind that kept me up to the wee hours of the morning and made the hard-working farmer that was my Dad shake his head and wonder if I would amount to anything, reading such foolishness. (The jury’s sit out on that one.)

Lynsay is clearly a hard-working, talented person who has plenty of reason to be proud but she just as clearly has one of the most endearing qualities there is: humility. So she can rest assured that I’m not trying to place her on a pedestal so much as make a point about what she does and does brilliantly: write fiction.

Is there such thing as just a fiction writer?

I have no doubt that many on this forum (including myself) have tried writing fiction. Some of us, perhaps, have been more successful at it then others. We’re all the better for having tried and we have learned that writing good fiction is hard. I’m sure it gets somewhat easier after having written dozens of books but I doubt the hours of editing and the deadlines ever do.

But really, “ just a fiction writer?”